Poker as a way of life

It’s been a good while since I’ve posted a blog. The last post I had on here was my crazy poem-story-thing. People that read it seemed to like it. One person told me that he can’t decide whether it was genius or insane. I tried to see it as a compliment lol.

So what has been going on in life since then? Not much really. Same job, same bullshit. Still drinking too much, still have no motivation. But there have been a lot of fun times. Life is better when laughing as much as possible. I’m looking forward to Download festival and a sunny summer full of sport (Euro’s, Olympics and Wimbledon). Time is going too fast and it scares the hell out of me but what can you do? We carry on regardless of thoughts of the past and what may lie ahead.

But I do have a new passion. It has taken up much of my time lately and I’m becoming quite obsessed with it. And that is poker. Texas Hold’em to be exact (though I do plan on learning the other variations at some point). I’ve always liked the idea of playing poker. Whether seeing it in films or watching pros on TV it has always interested me and on occasion I’d play a game with some friends. It is a game of skill mixed with luck. The best players can lose and the worst players can win. I never really understood before how somebody can be a professional at a game that requires a certain amount of luck. You don’t know what cards will come down so how can you be skilled? But I have been reading books and online articles as well as watching videos and pros in tournaments on tv. And it’s only now that I feel I understand the game properly. And I love it even more. I’ve been playing quite a lot online and I’m doing well most of the time. I find certain hands I’ve played well or badly run through my mind hours after they’ve happened. It’s quite addictive now for me.

It’s interesting how poker has changed my way of thinking in a way. The discipline and patience required for the game are great life lessons too. It’s important to see the long term goal rather than dwelling on small things that only affect the short term. Sometimes you do well and things turn out wrong for you any way. Sometimes you get lucky and life is good. That’s just the way it goes and we live and die by the cards that fall x

About dazz22

I’m a dude from England and I’m just your average screw up of a human being
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poker as a way of life

  1. jungleintherumble says:

    Getting better at poker is all trial and error. If you play online, I’d recommend playing headsup…it’s the best way to learn, and the most profitable. Best of luck my man.

    Like

  2. sugarray03 says:

    Hi I like what you had to say that is very much the same for me .Keep playing and good luck. Ray

    Like

Leave a Reply

